Mt Hedrick and Ben Cruachan

Hi all,

With all of my travel in 2013, I have not had the opportunity for some time to do an extended SOTA trip. An opportunity to rectify this arose over the new year period, so I headed off on the 28th of December for a 5 day trip.

Mt Hedrick VK3/VT-069

This is a summit that has not yet been activated. Looking at the festy.org maps, there is a walking track marked that goes from Huggetts Rd up the western end of the mountain. Opencyclemap also has it marked, but starting a few hundred metres to the north. Both tracks exist, although the opencyclemap starting location is more official. There are some nice views on the way up:

Looking north from Mt Hedrick's western slopes

Looking north from Mt Hedrick’s western slopes

Looking southwest from Mt Hedrick's western slopes

Looking southwest from Mt Hedrick’s western slopes

Operation from the top was using the KX1 with the end fed on the 7m heavy duty pole. The top has trees, and no nice views were obtainable. The day was clearly going to be warm, so I did not stay long.

Ben Cruachan VK3/VT-042

To access this, I attempted to head up Ben Cruachan Rd. In Forest Explorer, it is marked light red, meaning it is a more significant road. Nonetheless, the road ended and entered private property at 806131. The other maps also gave little indication that this would be the case. Because of the colour marking, I did not look at the land.vic.gov.au maps to see if there was a road reservation. Nonetheless, I had to turn back.

Next up was to try Gegghegans Rd and Beaver Medows Track and see how far I could get. I got to about point 783132, which was still a long way from the summit. It was going to be a long walk today. I filled up the water bottle, grabbed some food and started walking.

After a few climbs and rest stops, I realised that the full water bottle that I had taken was not going to be enough water. I had taken 1.5l, but I really needed about double that. I was quite tired when I reached the summit. The summit itself has good views, but through the trees.

Looking north from Ben Cruachan

Looking north from Ben Cruachan

I operated again using the KX1 and the end fed on the 7 metre pole. Some of the usual CW chaser suspects were not around, however the 4 QSOs were obtained without too much difficulty.

I did not want to stay too long, because it would be a 3 hour trip back, with only a small amount of water. I had to ration this to last most of the trip. I was very thirsty when getting back to the car. Because I was quite dehydrated by this stage, I started only drinking small frequent amounts, rather than shove a whole lot of water back in. Still, in the 3 hours after getting back to the car and before going to bed, I downed another 3 litres of water.

Day 1 of the 5 day trip down, 4 days to go. Next on the agenda was VK3/VT-064 on the way up to Licola and a difficult day trip up to two summits including Mt Margaret.

Regards, Wayne VK3WAM

2 comments on “Mt Hedrick and Ben Cruachan

  1. […] my previous day efforts at Mt Hedrick and Ben Cruachan, I headed up and overnighted just off the Licola Rd where the 4wd track comes in from vk3/vt-064. […]

  2. […] Day 1: Mt Hedrick and Ben Cruachan […]

Leave a Reply

