Activation of Point Nepean NP

Hi all,

This is a quick post about my Keith Roget Memorial National Parks Award activation down at Point Nepean National Park. I set up near Observation Point, about 500m from the Gunners Range car park. I worked: vk3pf/p, vk3hra/p, vk3up, vk3azz, vk3fd, vk3asd, vk3hy, Vk7or/2, vk3byd/p, vk3afw, vk2agr. The last three were on CW, the rest on SSB. vk3afw was a suprising CW contact on 20m, but all the rest were on 40m.

One little nice bonus was vk3byd/p on vk3/ve-004, which is in the Alpine National Park. While it was not a SOTA activation for me, it was nice to at least chase SOTA, especially on CW. I have not yet been bold enough to do a SOTA activation relying only on CW, the SSB mic has always been there!

I also had another try at PSK31, but there were no takers. I am aware that I have a bit of splatter myself, it looks like the audio input levels on the FT-817 need to be lower than the FT-897.

I’ve updated my Keith Roget map. While VK3PF, VK3ZPF, VK3VTH and likely even VK3HRA are well ahead of me, I still intend to eventually activate all 45 parks over time.

Regards, Wayne Merry VK3WAM

Leave a Reply

